by John Del Signore

“Every time I called the detective I became more depressed.  He was reluctant to answer any of my questions, and when he did the news was always bad.  I asked if they had searched for clues in the car- they hadn’t and wouldn’t.  I asked if they questioned the witnesses- they said it was pointless.  I asked if they had canvassed for video in any of the two dozen surveillance cameras along the road near the crash site- they had not.  The detective never even visited the crash site though it was two blocks from his precinct’s station.  When I asked these questions the detective would get defensive, he would say- ‘Are you trying to tell me how to do my job?’  Eventually I gave up.  I stopped calling after the detective answered my inquiries by saying- ‘Listen, you should be lucky you’re alive.'”

