I know I already linked once to this very sad story regarding the unarmed driver who was fatally shot by an NYPD officer, and I’m not inclined to dwell on it before all the facts are in, but one line particularly caught my eye:

“For legal reasons, to protect officers from self-incrimination, investigators cannot immediately interview officers directly involved in a police shooting.”

What’s going on here?  In what situation would the investigators say ‘Well, there were several witnesses that saw this man shoot and kill an unarmed man, and we have direct access to him, but we’re going to hold off on interrogating him, just in case he happens to incriminate himself”?  Is there some secret clause to the Fifth Amendment that endows cops with extra protection from being interrogated?  On what grounds?  Can anyone point me to the legal basis for this statement?

UPDATE:  Gothamist has a good follow-up article here.

